Cleansing the Conscience — Conscience and Guilt — Part 4

But what about subjective guilt? How can I deal with my awareness of my unworthiness? The problem really lies with the question. How can I be anything other than unworthy and be at the same time a recipient of grace. In Luke 17.10, Jesus comments, “So you also, when you have done all that you were commanded, say, ‘We are  unworthy servants;  we have only done what was our duty.'” No amount of obedience or service will ever make us worthy.

Let’s discuss this issue. What is it that God requires of humanity? Micah gives one answer: “to do justice, to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God” (6.8). Deuteronomy, though, gives the most basic commandment: “You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might.” If there has ever been a time when I have failed to love God this way, ever a time when I have failed to do justice or love kindness, ever a time when I have failed to walk humbly with God, I am a sinner who faces the everlasting wrath of God. Remember that it took only one sin to condemn the human race to death under God’s wrath.

If I ever do love God exclusively, do justice and kindness, and walk humbly with God, these are simply what is required of me at the moment I do them. No amount of right service to God today will make up for all the service that I have failed to offer in the past. And one sin is enough to condemn the whole human race everlastingly. What service then will render me worthy? NONE. I am temporally and eternally always unworthy. No amount of witnessing, giving, defending the oppressed can ever render me worthy because of my past failures.

This leaves us in a terrible hole!

About jamesallman

Jim Allman is a Bible teacher living in the Dallas, TX area. He taught 18 years in Memphis, TN at Mid-South Bible / Crichton College, and has been at Dallas Seminary since 2000. He is married to Jan and has three married children, Jill, Jim, Jr., and Julie, and six grandchildren, Hannah, Sara, Gabriel, Miles, Asher, and his little brother, Asa.
This entry was posted in Deuteronomy, Gospel of Luke, Grace, guilt, Micah and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment